The library has added 2 new databases!
Are you looking to conduct research in the Septuagint for an Old Testament course, reading some Philo or Josephus, or just plain curious about the meaning of a Greek word over time?
Check out the library’s newest online resource: The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek (BDG). (not to be confused with the similar BDAG)
BDG is the most important modern dictionary for Ancient Greek, replacing the venerable Liddell & Scott (LSJ). It includes an entry for every word used in Greek literature in the ancient world (140,000!), including the Classical sources but also the Septuagint, New Testament, and papyri.
How does BDG compare to A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature (BDAG)? BDAG will remain your go-to resource for research in the New Testament as it focuses solely on Koine Greek from the NT and early Christian literature (see the title!). BDG is much more general and comprehensive, covering the span of Ancient Greek literature from early-late, including some Koine words that BDAG does not include.
In other words, BDAG is better for NT study. But if you want to read anything outside of the NT, BDG will function as an invaluable companion.
To access The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek, log-in to SemNet and click on “Library Access.” A link to the dictionary is located under “Individual Databases.” (Andy Hatesohl)
Our second addition is the Library of Latin Texts (also known as CETADOC) for our Latin aficionados. This world class database includes works by Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, etc. as well as important materials from the Reformation and Counter-Reformation derived from the Corpus Christianorum series.
We value your feedback on these important resources.