Brief Biography
Born in 1844, Friedrich Nietzsche was a German Philosopher who issued provocative statements such as "What doesn't kill me makes me stronger" and "God is dead! And we have killed him." Widely ignored in his own time, Nietzsche's legacy would not be fully realized until the mid twentieth century. His ideas were radical and controversial and widely influenced thought in philosophy, psychology and literature among others. A common theme found throughout his writings was a critique of Christian morality, often writing in prose to accomplish this task. Though Nietzsche had a promising young career, he struggled throughout his life with illness and relational problems; eventually culminating in his mental breakdown at the age of 44 and death 11 years later.
Biographical Resources
These biographical resources provide an entry level composition of Nietzsche's life and philosophy. In particular, the selection here is meant to highlight the life of Nietzsche and the role which Christianity played in it.
- Nietzsche Research Starter PageThis research starter page gives a brief introduction to Nietzsche's life and works. Additionally, it provides resources to continue further research.
- Encyclopedia BritannicaEncyclopedia Britannica Provides a snapshot of Nietzsche's life. This entry specifically provides a chronological segmentation which highlights the various stages of Nietzsche's life.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineFaith in Reason: Nietzsche provides some insight to Nietzsche's view of faith. The section dedicated to Nietzsche provides a brief overview of his own ideas, while fitting them into a larger context of his contemporaries as well.
Nietzche and Christian Thought
These books provide commentary and critique on Nietzsche's religious and spiritual works.
Nietzsche by Call Number: B3317.H39 1999ISBN: 0415923808Publication Date: 1999-07-29
The Bible and Christian Traditons by Call Number: B3313.A44.R52 1990ISBN: 0820413127Publication Date: 1990-08-01Keys to understanding the Allegorical Subplot of Nietzsche's Zarathustra
Nietzsche and Theology by Call Number: BT702.D43 2006ISBN: 0754657671Publication Date: 2006-10-28
Some of Nietzsche's Works
Some of the works which Friedrich Nietzsche wrote. These particularly feature some of his religious critique.
The Anti-Christ by Call Number: B3313.A8 E5ISBN: 9781936594269Publication Date: 2011-03-23
The Joyful Wisdom by Call Number: B3313.F73 E6 1960ISBN: 0804457573Publication Date: 1960-01-01
Thus Spoke Zarathustra by Call Number: B3313.Z23 E6ISBN: 9781533620149Publication Date: 2016-06-04
The Will to Power by Call Number: B3313.N5ISBN: 9781985075733Publication Date: 2018-02-05
Attribution
This page created by Andrew Asp