LibGuides: Open Access: Additional Resources

Music

Hymnary
This database provides music and composer information along with connections to topics/scriptures.
10th-16th Century Liturgical Chants
Not only do these provide primary examples of early chanting but a history of the system of music notation.

World Information

World FactBook
This resource provides details on countries and peoples which could prove helpful for understanding missions in these areas.

Visual Aids

Bible Project
BibleProject is a nonprofit ed-tech organization and animation studio that produces 100% free Bible videos, podcasts, blogs, classes, and educational Bible resources to help make the biblical story accessible to everyone, everywhere.

Art Resources

Louvre Online Collections
Due to COVID the Louvre has put many (482,000) items from their collections online that you can explore digitally!
Musee de Cluny
The Musee de Cluny: Musée national du Moyen Âge also has items from their collections online, including their famous tapestry collection: The Lady and the Unicorn
British Library Online Manuscripts
Use this website to view digitised copies of manuscripts and archives in the British Library’s collections, with descriptions of their contents.

Some other highlights include the Harley Golden Gospels, Beowulf, the Silos Apocalypse, Leonardo da Vinci’s Notebook, the Petit Livre d’Amour and the Golf Book.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Videos, essay, exhibition tours, collection spotlights, and even family art activity prompts!
The Huntington Digital Library
The Huntington Digital Library is the online database of Huntington Library digitized materials. It aims to support the research needs of Huntington readers and staff and to share digitized resources with a broader community. New content is regularly added, yet only a fraction of the Huntington Library’s more than nine million items is available in digitized form.
Art Institute of Chicago
This link goes directly to the Gustave Dore collection at the Art Institute but you can "explore thousands of artworks in the museum’s wide-ranging collection—from our world-renowned icons to lesser-known gems from every corner of the globe—as well as our books, writings, reference materials, and other resources."