LibGuides: Introduction to Church History: Medieval

HIstories

The Medieval Church, a Brief History by Joseph H. Lynch
ISBN: 0582494664
Publication Date: 1992-01-01
International, multi-national and yet intimately local, the Church was the central institution of the European Middle Ages, and the foundation of medieval life. No aspect of the medieval world, or the medieval world-view was untouched by its influence. Joseph H. Lynch's survey explains both the history of the Church as an institution, and explores its all-pervasive role in medieval life.
The Medieval Church by Carl A. Volz
ISBN: 068700604X
Publication Date: 1997-11-01
The Medieval Church demonstrate the pervasive influence of the past on modern piety, practice, and beliefs. Yet not only does this millennium provide a bridge to the early church, it created modern Europe and its nations, institutions, and the concept of Christendom as well.
The Age of Reform, 1250-1550 by Steven Ozment
ISBN: 0300024770
Publication Date: 1980-06-01
The Age of Reform focuses on the intellectual history of the later Middle Ages and the Reformation to demonstrate both continuity and discontinuity in what it means to reform the church.
The Western Church in the Later Middle Ages by Francis Oakley
ISBN: 0801493471
Publication Date: 1985-08-06
Francis Oakley addresses late-medieval church history in its own terms, pointing out not only discontinuities but also continuities with earlier medieval experience. "By doing so," he writes, "I hope to have avoided the distortions and refractions that occur when that history is seen too obsessively through the lens of the Reformation."

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Joseph R. Strayer (Editor)
ISBN: 0684167603
Publication Date: 1982-11-01
The Dictionary of the Middle Ages is an excellent source for lengthier treatments of people and topics in the period ca. 500-1500.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages (4 Volume Set) by Robert E. Bjork
ISBN: 9780198662624
Publication Date: 2010-07-29
The Oxford Dictionary of the MIddle Ages is another excellent source for information on medieval people, places and topics. It offers more comprehensive geographic coverage, including Asia and North Africa, than many other reference works on the period.

Atlas

Augsburg Historical Atlas of Christianity in the Middle Ages and Reformation by Charles S. Anderson
ISBN: 0806613173
Publication Date: 1973-03-01
The Augsburg Historical Atlas presents the major moments and movements of medieval and Reformation history through its maps. Thematic maps cover the time from 600 to 1648.

Timeline

Timeline Charts of the Western Church by Susan Lynn Peterson
ISBN: 0310223539
Publication Date: 1999-10-25
The main part of this book organizes in-depth information into four categories: - A. Theological questions/Issues - B. People/Events - C. Wider Culture - D. Texts. Although it covers more than the Middle Ages, it places medieval developments in a wider context.

Bibliographies

Iter Bibliography

Iter Bibliography is a searchable database bibliography named in reference to the famed bibliography of Renaissance manuscripts Iter Italicum. Like that work it covers the Middle Ages and Renaissance but provides citations of secondary sources, including monographs, journal articles, and dissertations. It does not provide full text access.

Access requires Concordia Seminary login.

Online Medieval Sources Bibliography

This is an open access online bibliography of medieval primary source texts in English translation. It does not provide full text access.